Immortal: Chapters 1 & 2

Hey guys, so today were going to do something a little bit different. Since it’s getting close to the spookiest night of the year (halloween), I decided that I would give you guys a sneak peek at a mystery/dystopian fiction novel that I’ve been writing on and off for a little while. I’m not going to do an outro for this post, so I’m going to pack it all in here. If you do want to see the next couple of chapters spread out across the next few months, like this post and hey, maybe give your girl a follow! My question-of-the-post today is: What is your go-to scary story? If you have one please drop it in the comments! Also, don’t forget to leave some questions for me because I was thinking of doing a Q&A, but not any Q&A, a Christmas Q&A (due out on Dec. 1st). I’ve said a lot, so let’s get into the story!

 

CHPT. 1

Lara felt the wind in her hair. She smiled happily as she let her toes dangle off the edge of the cliff. Below her was a beautiful beach with sparkling turquoise water. She was at peace as she let herself fall off the edge. With wind in her ears and a smile on her face, she landed on the damp sand, ready to be carried off to the sea – dead. Or so she thought… A wave splashed over her freckled nose, waking her from a daze. Lara slowly stood up and dipped her toes in the water. She was the only one that survived the plane crash that claimed her parent’s lives, leaving her alone. She was trying to join them so that they could reunite. With dread, guilt and sorrow, she sat down on a small rock near the bottom of the cliff.

“I just don’t understand!” She yelled to the sky, tears streaming down her face. “My parents are gone! Just let me die and be with them!” Loneliness was not something that Lara could live with. She had tried everything, everything! She was going to pay the price to see her parents again.

“Why, why.” Lara sobbed quietly, collapsing into a heap in the water. It was like being punched in the stomach: you were too weak to do anything and you felt like vomiting. Overwhelmed by the feeling of heartbreak, Lara started choking on her breaths and eventually on the salty seawater. Attempting to stand up, Lara’s knees wobbled with weakness. ‘This is it’ she thought. ‘I’m finally breaking down.’ To much was happening to her. Depression and devastation was taking over her life. The emptiness in her heart gave her very little strength to do anything.

After a good chance to let it all out, Lara picked herself up and began walking down the beach. She was a young woman, 21 to be exact, with sandy blond hair and warm brown eyes. She was currently attending Berkeley University in California as a major in forensics and law. Thankfully, the school had given her the rest of the term to grieve her loss.

Lara didn’t want to die; she just wanted to be with her parents again. She new that she was right where she wanted to be in life, just now the people that she wanted in it were gone. Lara had no siblings and knew that her other relatives would not help her. It was now up to her to go to the judge and claim a will, if any, that was left to her. Her parents were know for being over prepared, so they probably had made one once she was born in case they died suddenly. Finally Lara reached the boardwalk that she then took to the parking lot. Unlocking her convertible, she slid into the driver’s seat and grasped the steering wheel. With a deep breath and a quick check in the rear view mirror, Lara began the process of backing out of the parking lot.

 

CHPT. 2

Monday morning, Lara was up and ready at 6:00 a.m. She scrubbed her teeth after eating Italian eggs and a smoothie, pressed and put on her most grown up business attire and was off to the court house. She had been planning a case all night; she just hoped that she didn’t end up crying of all her makeup. Knowing that she had relatives that did not overly enjoy her, that wouldn’t be brought into the conversation, nor would her attempts of rejoining her parents be talked about. It scared her a little bit, what she was going to do. Lara was confident and headstrong, but with a man as powerful as hon. Sebastian Kink, it could shrink faster than a humming bird could fly.

As she pulled up to the courthouse, a knot formed in her stomach. Lara opened the monstrous double door and strut down the lobby. She was a woman of persuasion and thought things through until they were flawless but also quick witted and cunning.

“I would like to speak with Hon. Sebastian Kink please.” Lara said to the lady at the desk.

“I’m sorry miss, he’s not available right now.” The lady said as if she were talking to a child.

“I really need to speak with him. Now.”

“You cannot speak with hi-”

“Look, my parents both died in a plane crash last week. I’m lonely and miserable if you think I’m the kind of person to mess with right now, you are sadly mistaken.” Lara interrupted. The woman at the desk was getting irritated:

“Missy, you are just going to have to wait! I cannot get Mr. Kink at this moment. You are going to have to be patient!”

“Oh, okay, I’ll just have to wait. I’ll just have to wait you say.” Lara said, calming down momentarily. “I am not waiting!!! You are going to let me through that door and I am going to talk to Mr. Kink!!!” She yelled.

“I really don’t think that all this fuss is necessary-”

That’s when Lara reached across the desk and grabbed the phone. She hit the button labeled Hon. Sebastian Kink and started to talk to him. After a series of aha’s and hmm’s, Lara walked behind the desk, snatched the key from the dazed desk-lady and unlocked the door behind her. Glad that she had made it past the desk, she walked down a dark and gloomy hallway that seemed to be lined with rows of filing cabinets. “This must have all of California’s residents information in it!” Lara whispered to herself. Once she reached the end of the hallway, she found a small room with tall bookcases full of books. A little fire was burning in the fireplace and a high backed chair was facing away from her.

“Good morning, miss Somner.” Mr. Kink said mischievously. “I see you got past the front desk, rather incredible, I must say.”

“Thank you.” Lara responded. She was feeling that surge of confidence disappear.

“What can I help you with today?” Mr. Kink asked, spinning the chair to face her.

“My parents were killed in a plane crash last week. I’m still recovering from the shock of it all and I don’t know what to do.” Mr. Kink picked up a slight waver in Lara’s voice, the type you get when you might cry.

Sebastian Kink could tell that this would end up breaking down the young lady that stood before him, so he pressed deeper into the situation: “You and your father were quite close, weren’t you?”

“Yes, we were extremely close.”

“And you never got to say goodbye to him… What a shame. All the things you could have done together – vanished!” Kink said. A single tear slid down Lara’s cheek.

“I miss them so much! I wish I could have apologized for all the things I did wrong, all the things that disappointed them! I just need them to know how much I loved them! How much they meant to me! And now they’ll never know!” Lara said, sobbing. “I’m here to collect a will, if there is one.” She added, drying her eyes. She could not be so vulnerable in front of the man who could make or break her life. Kink stroked his Snow White beard in thought.

“Alright.” He said, taking pity on the poor girl. They went through boxes and boxes of files until they finally found the right document.” Ah, here it is.”

“Oh my god. Thank you so much! I’m mean, Hon. Sebastian Kink, you have aided me greatly.” Lara sputtered as she hurried out of the dark hallway. Now she didn’t know what to do; the will was found and all she needed to do was see what was left to her. She walked swiftly past the front desk, not even flinching at the piercing stare the woman’s icy blue eyes gave off. “Thank you for that little quarrel earlier, miss. That greatly entertained me!” Lara joked, not even looking over her shoulder to say so. It was all in reach; everything could fall into place just as she wanted.

*Side note*: This has not exactly been revised or edited. I am not a professional and would like some input on what you think! Thank you and remember that you are amazing! -GRACEFUL

5 thoughts on “Immortal: Chapters 1 & 2

Leave a Reply

