October Favourites + Haul!

Hi everybody! We are slowly nearing the end of October. It’s a sad time, really. No more Halloween prep, pumpkins are out of season, it’s getting to be a weirder form of weather everyday (today, it’s so windy that if it were snowing, there would have been a blizzard. Then, the sun peaks through and it starts raining in the middle of my photo-shoot!). There are also some really fun things going on though, for example, I can shamelessly sing Christmas music, I mean, not that I have been already *nervous laugh*. There is also a rather consistent weather pattern. I feel like I have rambled for so long now, so  let’s get into the post!

Favourites:screen-shot-2016-10-25-at-5-21-25-pmMusic

Music is one of my favourite things ever! I can barely go a day without playing or listening to music, therefore I am a huge user of Spotify. This month, I’ve really been loving music on opposite sides of the spectrum: soft music and dance music. For soft music, the song A Thousand Years by Christina Perri and My Heart Will Go On by Celine Dion are my go too. They are both featured in movies, so they should be easy to find. On the dance side of things, I have really been liking the album Evolution by Sabrina Carpenter. If you have not heard of her, trust me, her music is really good! I get the tracks on her album stuck in my head, and it always puts me in a good mood!

screen-shot-2016-10-25-at-5-23-25-pmThe Selection Series

I know, I know: this will be the second month in a row that I have raved about this book series, but my friends, you have not lived until you have read this book series! It follows America Singer and her time in the selection, following through to the story of her children. It’s truly amazing the way that Kiera Cast writes her books, the ways that she will make you scream at the book, laugh with the characters and start crying. All at once. I would have included all of the books in last months favourites, but I had to order ‘The Heir’ from my local bookstore, which took two weeks. So I had all of the other books sitting on my bookshelf without having an end. It was a truly traumatizing experience!

screen-shot-2016-10-25-at-5-21-45-pmMy Beloved Comb

I know that this is going to sound really weird, but this comb is magical! It brushes my hair like no other product that I have used! Granted, it feels like I’m about to snap the teeth in half and the section of hair that I’m attempting to comb through will be ripped from my head, but in the end, it works. Also, a tip for people that are like me and have super knotted hair (especially after the shower), if you take some leave in conditioner and rub it all through really knotted sections of hair, it won’t be as hard to brush.

screen-shot-2016-10-25-at-5-22-22-pmPlaid Shirts

Plaid shirts are a bit of a necessity to me, especially for fall! So when I found this baby, I pretty much died. A plaid shirt is really a super versatile piece, I mean, how many times have you been looking through pinterest and found an outfit with a plaid shirt? 3/4 of the time, probably. Seriously though! If you have a cute enough shirt like this, you can be wearing all black otherwise and no one will think different of it. If all black is your thing though, I’m not judging! I actually am envious of the people that can pull of those looks, especially when I’m not in a colourful mood…

Haul!

screen-shot-2016-10-25-at-5-21-36-pmRunning Shirt

I’m going to start out with this totally adorable workout shirt. Though the more and more I look at it in this angle, it looks like a potato. Working out in this shirt is the best thing ever, because it has plenty of mesh details to let air circle, but the sleeves keep you warm to a certain amount. It’s perfect for this time a year if your going for a run, but don’t want to wear a sweater. Or, if you have my problem of the gym being to cold, that’s cool too. Another nice detail is the stripes on the arms as well as the little thumb holes on the sleeves.

screen-shot-2016-10-25-at-5-22-30-pmMagic In The Air Soap

YAY! Bath and Body Works has come out with this years holiday scents! I love the smell of this soap, even though my nose is a bit broken at the time (congestion:( ). It has a rather fresh scent, with a hint of lavender/floral in it. I haven’t used it yet, because I have a soap on the go right now, but I feel like it will last on your skin, like my absolute favourite soap ‘Endless Weekend’. I love the size of this as well, this is the only size that I use because it doesn’t feel like a commitment when you start using the bottle.

screen-shot-2016-10-25-at-5-22-14-pmNavy Blazer

This cute little, well, large pumpkin is sporting an adorable blazer for me. The structure is really nice, with it being form fitting through the sleeves and bodice. There is also a nice little black detail on the back-side of each sleeve. This blazer instantly takes this look from “I’m kinda dressed up” to “Wow! I am so ready to work” with the touch of professionalism that it offers. I wear this a lot for oral presentations and tests, because apparently dressing nicely will give you an added boost that you know what your doing.

screen-shot-2016-10-25-at-5-22-49-pmGlittery Coloured Pencils

These coloured pencils make colouring so. much. fun! They tend to shine in the light quite nicely and have a really soft colour that I absolutely LOVE! I’ve been using these especially with adult coloring books, since they’re so precise. The colors vary slightly from what they are in the package to what they are on paper, but the colors are still SO pretty!

screen-shot-2016-10-25-at-5-22-00-pmPaisley Scarf

This scarf has saved my life! In the back there is a little elastic that keeps it from coming undone, so if you ever need a little somthin’ somthin’ for your outfit, this scarf is a grab-and-go type thing. I wear it a lot with the blue blazer that I showed and paired with some black leggings, it looks amazing! The material is also super soft, so you won’t have any itchy spots on your neck. I can’t say enough good things about this scarf, it’s just the best thing!

screen-shot-2016-10-25-at-5-22-07-pm

Coziest Sweater  EVER!

This sweater is so warm, it’s like wearing a heater on your skin! It has  a nice slouchy neck, so it’s like it has a built in scarf. I wear this as much as possible, but black leggings and this sweater starts to get a little bit repetitive. It’s a very nice form fitting style, but it’s still loose enough to keep it from being tight. I have history with this sweater: I’ve worn it so many times editing blog posts, cozying up by the fire with a good book, studying for a test… the list goes on. In short, it’s almost replaced my housecoat.

There you go, my third monthly favourites! I had so much fun taking the photos for this post and I hope that you all liked them! Editing this went so fast, especially since I’m sick with a cold and there’s really nothing else to do. Don’t forget to leave your Christmas Questions below for an up-coming Q&A, because I have something very special planned:). My question-of-the-post today is: What’s your go-to remedy for fighting a cold? I really need to shake mine, since fall scents are dwindling and I can’t even smell them! Remember that you are amazing! -GRACEFUL

Leave a Reply

