Christmas Q&A: Blogmas Day 1!

AHHHH! I can’t believe that it’s December already! So, this year I decided to do Blogmas! I am still a relatively new blogger, so I might not be able to blog EVERY.SINGLE.DAY, but I will try my best! This is my first Blogmas post, which I teased back in October, so thank you for the lovely questions! Also, thank you to other blogs that I may or may not have copy and pasted theses questions from… Without further ado ladies and gents, let’s get into Blogmas day 1!

1. Do you prefer a real Christmas tree or false?

REAL!!!! I love the smell of Christmas trees, the authenticity of having Christmas trees, everything about Christmas trees except for the fact that the needles fall off!

2. You’re in a coffee shop, it’s December, what do you pick?

Hands down a candy cane hot chocolate. I don’t drink coffee, so this is definitely what I opt for. Also, just the thought of having a warm, minty, chocolate drink is so appealing.

3. Whats your favourite colour scheme for decorating the tree?

I really like having wooden decorations and pewter decorations on the tree, especially since thats what we do in my house. I also really like minimalistic decorations, like white lights and red decorations, or a white tree with gold decorations.

4. Giving or receiving?

Though receiving is fun, giving makes me feel very good inside. Watching someones face light up while they un-wrap your gift to them is so satisfying. I also find gift shopping really fun, putting yourself in the persons shoes and thinking as the other person: What would I look for?

5. Favourite (traditional) Christmas treat?

‘Santa’s cookies’. I guess it’s not a super traditional treat, but especially when I was younger, eating Santa Claus’ cookies was so magical. Also, we always make really good peanut butter ones with my siblings.

6. What’s your traditional Christmas dinner?

My grandmother does all of the fixings, and it gets more elaborate every year. We generally have ham, turkey, potato stuffing, sausage stuffing, potatoes, green beans, carrots, gravy, squash, sweet potato pie, mince-meat pie and cranberry sauce. The sad part is, I eat every single thing that i just listed every year.

7. Christmas day fashion?

Pyjamas for the morning, a dress for dinner and any new clothes I’ve received as a fashion-show

8. What’s your favourite Christmas song?

My favourite Christmas song is The Christmas Song (chestnuts roasting on an open fire), White Christmas, It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas and Rocking Around The Christmas Tree. I have so many!

9. What’s your favourite Christmas movie?

I love any Tim Allen Christmas movies (All the Santa clauses, Christmas with the Kranks) and of course, How The Grinch Stole Christmas. I also watch National Lampoons Christmas vacation with my family every year, no matter how young some of the crowd might be. Ooh! I can’t forget about the first two Home Alone’s either!

10. Open presents before or after lunch?

Before lunch. One of our ‘Christmas Morning Rules’ is we have to stay in our rooms until seven o’clock. After that, we do stocking and Christmas presents.

11. What is your favourite way to decorate?

I like to decorate with red, green, silver and gold tones through my house. My three major things that HAVE to be up is a garland, false gift boxes and an advent calendar. It’s a fun way to count down the days, no matter what age you are.

12. Do you open your presents on Christmas Eve or Christmas morning?

Both? On Christmas eve, we open two gifts: a pewter ornament in the morning when we decorate the tree and a pair of pyjamas in the evenings. Everything else is on Christmas day.

13. Do you have a favourite Christmas memory?

One Christmas, when I was seven years old, I made this list of all of the things that we needed to do on Christmas eve day. Then, the next day, there was hoof-prints in the snow and slight marks with it. There was also ‘Reindeer Food’ sprinkled around.

14. Favourite festive food?

STUFFING! Dressing, whatever you call it, it’s my favourite thing because I only get it twice a year: Thanksgiving and Christmas.

15. Favourite Christmas gift?

My favourite gift has to be between my camera and my guitar. My camera because thats what I use for the photography on this blog, and my guitar because I LOVE PLAYING IT!

16. Favourite Christmas scent?

Peppermint and pine tree. They are both so festive, and I definitely am going to have to buy candles in those scents!

17. Do you have any Christmas Eve traditions?

Yes I do. You will find out more about them on Christmas Eve, so make sure that you follow so you don’t miss that post!

18. What tops your tree?

We have a beautiful wooden/wicker star that tops our tree. It also has a little jingle bell and some false cranberries. It really matches our theme.

19. As a kid what was the one (crazy, wild, extravagant) gift you always asked for but never received?

I always secretly hoped for a time travel machine, or a mansion or a teleporting device, all of which I never received. I was a bit of an outrageous kid, in my mind, at least.

20. What’s the best part about Christmas for you?

All of the happiness that it brings. Folks are just so cheery during this time of year.

21. Do you put up decorations on the outside of your house?

I do, but very minimalistic. We do garland around the railings of the front porch with lights, thats it.

22. Do you have any family traditions?

NEVER, EVER DECORATE THE TREE BEFORE CHRISTMAS EVE. Unless it’s to put on the lights.

There you have it! My first Blogmas post! I also wanted to say that not all of my posts will be Christmas themed, some of them will be day-in-the-life posts. I am having so much fun, pre-writing different posts and I hope you enjoy them all! My question-of-the-post today will be two things: 1. have you ever noticed that when you type ‘Blogmas’, your computer  wants to correct it to blooms? 2. Copy and paste these questions and do them yourself! Thats it for today, but I will be back tomorrow with another post! Remember that you are amazing! -GRACEFUL

Leave a Reply

