Weekend Reads: Blogmas day 15

Hello tout-la-monde (everyone)! How is life today? I am back with Blogmas Day 15, which is COMPLETELY BOGGLING MY MIND. How do we only have ten more days until Christmas? I know that the holidays can be hectic, and I have done these three posts to help y’all out, but we also need time to just sit back, relax and… read. Reading is a wonderful way to travel the world, experience cultures and gather information without leaving your comfy seat. So, I have gathered a short list of books that you could probably read over the weekend, if your like me. Now, I don’t want to keep you any longer, so let’s get reading!

The Hunger Games

Screen Shot 2016-12-12 at 12.23.21 PM.png

Winning will make you famous.
Losing means certain death.

The nation of Panem, formed from a post-apocalyptic North America, is a country that consists of a wealthy Capitol region surrounded by 12 poorer districts. Early in its history, a rebellion led by a 13th district against the Capitol resulted in its destruction and the creation of an annual televised event known as the Hunger Games. In punishment, and as a reminder of the power and grace of the Capitol, each district must yield one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 through a lottery system to participate in the games. The ‘tributes’ are chosen during the annual Reaping and are forced to fight to the death, leaving only one survivor to claim victory.

When 16-year-old Katniss’s young sister, Prim, is selected as District 12’s female representative, Katniss volunteers to take her place. She and her male counterpart Peeta, are pitted against bigger, stronger representatives, some of whom have trained for this their whole lives. , she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature. -Goodreads

Honestly, I don’t know how some people have never heard of or read this book. It is one of THE best books I have ever read. It makes me super emotional too, with all of the feelings that Katniss goes through. I had received all three of the books for Christmas several years ago, and all of boxing day I spent with my headphones on and my nose in theses books. I really recommend if your looking for something short, but not super light-hearted.

If I Stay

Screen Shot 2016-12-12 at 12.26.24 PM.pngJust listen, Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel.

I open my eyes wide now.
I sit up as much as I can.
And I listen.

Stay, he says.

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.

If I Stay is a heartachingly beautiful book about the power of love, the true meaning of family, and the choices we all make. -Goodreads

Can I just say, props to Gayle Forman for almost making me cry. I am relatively hard to be made cry through books and movies, but this one almost turned out to be a tear jerker, that and the fact that I have thumb-prints left in the pages of this book from gripping it so tightly. The concept of this book is unique to me, in the way that it was delivered. Yes, living after your body is essentially dead has been done, but following yourself through the hospital, watching the nurses try and bring you back, and then choosing to stay… it won’t be able to be done again so well.

Just One Day

Screen Shot 2016-12-12 at 12.33.23 PM.png

Allyson Healey’s life is exactly like her suitcase—packed, planned, ordered. Then on the last day of her three-week post-graduation European tour, she meets Willem. A free-spirited, roving actor, Willem is everything she’s not, and when he invites her to abandon her plans and come to Paris with him, Allyson says yes. This uncharacteristic decision leads to a day of risk and romance, liberation and intimacy: 24 hours that will transform Allyson’s life.

A book about love, heartbreak, travel, identity, and the “accidents” of fate, Just One Day shows us how sometimes in order to get found, you first have to get lost. . . and how often the people we are seeking are much closer than we know. -Goodreads

Though I am slightly pushing the limits for actually reading this in one weekend, I don’t think a book has ever inspired me more. The main character is represented as very independent and level-headed young woman who, by making one crazy decision, is completely opened-up to her dreams. I was really inspired to travel after reading this, and have since been planning an insanely crazy trip, which is not likely to happen anytime soon, if it ever happens.

Dead To You

screen-shot-2016-12-12-at-12-29-21-pm

Some memories are better left untouched.

Ethan was abducted from his front yard when he was just seven years old. Now, at sixteen, he has returned to his family.

It’s a miracle… at first.

Then the tensions start to build. His reintroduction to his old life isn’t going smoothly, and his family is tearing apart all over again. If only Ethan could remember something, anything, about his life before, he’d be able to put the pieces back together.

But there’s something that’s keeping his memory blocked.

Something unspeakable… -Goodreads

AHHH! This book had me on the edge of my seat the entire time! The different plot twists make for a super un-predictable read, even when you think you do know whats going to happen. It was also a change, seeing the point of view from a male perspective, which got me thinking about how I would have handled the situation. I’d probably have been dead after a couple of days. Please, after reading this, comment down below what you think will happen in the end, I can almost guarantee that if you haven’t read this book before, you’ll NEVER guess the ending.

So, that was Blogmas Day 15, folks! I hope you found some inspiration to read a new book, or to just read in general. I liked doing this post a lot, since it wasn’t specifically holiday related, and it really helped me express my point of view and my thoughts on books that you have probably heard of. Todays question-of-the-post is: How do you enjoy a snowy/rainy winters day? Thats all for today, and remember that you are amazing! -GRACEFUL

*CREDITS FOR ALL OF THE PHOTO’S I HAVE USED*

3 Comments Add yours

  1. itsnira says:

    Loved this post! I definitely want to read all of the books you mentioned. They sound so good!

    Nira xx | https://itsnira7.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. graceful03 says:

      I love all of them! I hope you get around to reading one

      Liked by 1 person

      1. itsnira says:

        Yea. I hope I do! 🙂 xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

